Call for Contributions

After running as an independent event for several years, starting with 2022, Mile High Video (MHV) will be sponsored and organized by the ACM Special Interest Group on Multimedia (SIGMM) to grow further. ACM MHV’22 will establish a unique forum for participants from both industry and academia to present, share and discuss innovations from content production to consumption.

ACM MHV’22 welcomes contributions from industry to share real-world problems and solutions as well as novel approaches and results from basic research typically conducted within an academic environment. ACM MHV’22 will provide a unique opportunity to view the interplay of the industry and academia in the area of video technologies.

ACM MHV contributions are solicited in, but not limited to the following areas:

  • Content production, encoding and packaging
    • Encoding for broadcast, mobile and OTT, and using AI/ML in encoding
    • New and developing audio and video codecs
    • HDR, accessibility
    • Quality assessment models and tools, and user experience studies
  • Workflows
    • Virtualized headends, cloud-based workflows for production and distribution
    • Redundancy and resilience in content origination
    • Ingest protocols
    • Ad insertion
  • Content delivery and security
    • Developments in transport protocols and new delivery paradigms
    • Protection for OTT distribution and tools against piracy
    • Analytics
  • Streaming technologies
    • Adaptive streaming and transcoding
    • Low latency
    • Player, playback and UX developments
    • Content discovery, promotion and recommendation systems
    • Protocol and Web API improvements and innovations for streaming video
  • Industry trends
    • Advances in interactive and immersive (xR) video
    • Cloud gaming and gaming streaming
    • Provenance, content authentication and deepfakes
  • Standards and interoperability
    • New and developing standards in the media and delivery space
    • Interoperability guidelines

Prospective speakers are invited to submit an extended abstract (one page + references) that will be peer-reviewed by the ACM MHV technical program committee (TPC) for relevance, timeliness and technical correctness.

The authors of the accepted extended abstracts will be invited to optionally submit a full-length paper (up to six pages + references) for possible inclusion into the conference proceedings. These papers must be original work (i.e., not published previously in a journal or conference) and will also be peer-reviewed by the ACM MHV TPC.

Accepted extended abstracts and full-length papers will be presented at the ACM MHV conference and will be published in the conference proceedings in the ACM Digital Library.

How to Submit an Extended Abstract

Prospective authors are invited to submit extended abstracts (one page + references) here following the official ACM styles. The submissions must include the names and affiliations of the authors.

Important Dates

  • Extended abstract submission deadline: Sept. 15, 2021
  • Notification of extended abstract acceptance: Oct. 15, 2021
  • (Optional) Full-length paper submission deadline: Nov. 15, 2021
  • Notification of full-length paper acceptance: Dec. 15, 2021
  • Camera-ready submission (extended abstracts/full-length papers) deadline: Jan. 15, 2022

ACM MHV’22 Program Chairs

  • Christian Timmerer (AAU; christian.timmerer AT
  • Dan Grois (Comcast; dgrois AT

ACM MHV Steering Committee Members

  • Balu Adsumilli (YouTube, USA)
  • Ali C. Begen (Ozyegin University, Turkey), Co-chair
  • Alex Giladi (Comcast, USA), Co-chair
  • Sally Hattori (Walt Disney Studios, USA)
  • Jean-Baptiste Kempf (VideoLAN, France)
  • Thomas Kernen (NVIDIA, Switzerland)
  • Scott Labrozzi (Disney Streaming Services, USA)
  • Maria Martini (Kingston University, UK)
  • Hatice Memiguven (beIN Media, Turkey)
  • Ben Mesander (Wowza Media Systems, USA)
  • Mark Nakano (WarnerMedia, USA)
  • Madeleine Noland (ATSC, USA)
  • Yuriy Reznik (Brightcove, USA)
  • Tamar Shoham (Beamr, Israel)